Clubs and Activities

 

Dodd Animal Welfare Club (DAWG)
agulielmetti@cheshire.k12.ct.us
Advisor: Ms. Gulielmetti

Best Buddies

Website
Best Buddies Middle fosters one-to-one friendships between students with and without intellectual and developmental disabilities (IDD).  Students with IDD are often isolated and left out of social activities.  Best Buddies helps to create an inclusive school climate for students early on in their educational development.
Advisor: Mrs. Majeski

Board Game Club

lseymour@cheshire.k12.ct.us
Advisor:  Mrs. Seymour

Book Club
kshanley@cheshire.k12.ct.us
Advisor:  Mrs. Shanley

Chamber Choir
kyannon@cheshire.k12.ct.us
Advisor: Dr. Yannon
Chamber Choir is a non-auditioned group which will meet after school on Thursdays from 2:45 – 3:30. Students are encouraged to bring a love of vocal music and a willingness to sing music of all styles, including unaccompanied music (a cappella) in parts. The purpose of the choir is to allow students to sing an extended and diverse repertoire, including an emphasis on contemporary (including pop and jazz) music. The choir will perform at the Ensembles Concert in June.

Chamber Orchestra
tpeters@cheshire.k12.ct.us
Advisor: Ms. Peter

Coding Club
tbaker2@cheshire.k12.ct.us
Advisor:  Mr. Baker

Culinary Club
kgarden@cheshire.k12.ct.us
Advisor:  Ms. Garden

Debate Club
blopez@cheshire.k12.ct.us
Advisor:  Mr. Lopez

Drama Club
Drama Club Web Page
kshanley@cheshire.k12.ct.us
jrunte@cheshire.k12.ct.us
Advisors: Mrs. Shanley & Mr. Runte
The Dodd Drama Club is an organization for students interested in theater. There is typically one production each school year in the early spring. Students who are cast in the show will attend after school rehearsals from 2:45-4:45 Tuesday-Thursday with additional rehearsals as the show gets closer. Students can also be involved in the drama club if they are interested in helping out “behind the scenes.” There is always work to be done on sets, lights, camera, video, costumes, and make-up and hair.

Future Educators of America
Dodd FEA Web Page
ccarter@cheshire.k12.ct.us
Advisor: Ms. Carter
The Future Educators of America is an organization that offers opportunities in exploring careers in education. Students create and execute lesson plans, attend workshops on education, and participate in events around school like National Education Week and Teacher Appreciation Week.  Meetings are usually held twice a month.

Intramurals
Physical Education Department Web Page
mrahn@cheshire.k12.ct.us
Advisor: Mr. Rahn
Intramurals (2:45-3:45pm) are offered throughout the year. Activities are scheduled and participation is elective. Scheduled dates are listed in Dateline Dodd, posted in the locker room area and updates on morning announcements.

Jazz Band
lleclaire@cheshire.k12.ct.us
Advisor: Mrs. LeClaire
Jazz Band offers band members an opportunity to play the blues, swing, Latin, and some rock. All band members and rhythm players are welcome to participate. Rehearsals are on Tuesday after school until 3:25pm or on Wednesday mornings from 7:20 to 7:50am. The Jazz Ensemble performs in the Spring Ensembles Concert in June

MakerSpace
https://sites.google.com/a/cheshire.k12.ct.us/makerspace/
kshanley@cheshire.k12.ct.us
noday@cheshire.k12.ct.us
Advisors: Mrs. Shanley & Mr. O'Day
Students explore the world of STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Art, and Math) through self directed projects in a chosen area.

Marching Band
lleclaire@cheshire.k12.ct.us
Advisor: Mrs. LeClaire

MATHCOUNTS
https://mathcounts.org/sslpage.aspx
jpoeltl@cheshire.k12.ct.us
Advisor: Ms. Poeltl
Any student interested in joining MathCounts is welcome to meet in room 217 during any or all of the club dates.  Meetings are usually held once a week after school from 2:50 - 3:30, beginning in early October and continuing through March.  Certain individuals will be selected to compete on the Dodd team based on performance on various MathCounts tools.  The regional competition is generally held in early February and the state competition is generally held in early March. Please listen to morning announcements and watch the TV monitors in the classroom for our exact meeting dates and times.

Model U.N. Club
kgarden@cheshire.k12.ct.us
Advisor:  Ms. Garden

National Junior Honor Society
asmith@cheshire.k12.ct.us
ccarter@cheshire.k12.ct.us
Advisor: Mrs. Smith & Ms. Carter
The National Junior Honor Society is devoted to participating in community service projects, fundraisers and school sponsored activities. The group of eighth grade students elects officers who throughout the course of the school year develop and implement the various projects. CLICK HERE to see the criteria for entry into the N.J.H.S.

Newspaper Club - Spartan Scroll
efutoma@cheshire.k12.ct.us
Advisor: Ms. Futoma
Students create and write an on-line school newspaper based on school events and outside interests.

Nintendo Club
rcote@cheshire.k12.ct.us
jgagliardi@cheshire.k12.ct.us
Advisors: Mr. Cote & Mr. Gagliardi

R.C. Car Club
mwoods@cheshire.k12.ct.us
Advisor:  Mr. Woods

Recycling Club
ayawin@cheshire.k12.ct.us
Advisor: Mr. Yawin

Refugee Club
cbrandom@cheshire.k12.ct.us
Advisor:  Ms.Brandom 

Southern Regional Band, Orchestra and Chorus
lleclaire@cheshire.k12.ct.us
Advisors: Mrs. LeClaire, Ms. Peters, Dr. Yannon

Speed Walking Club
lmontano@cheshire.k12.ct.us
ttuscano@cheshire.k12.ct.us
Advisors:  Mrs. Montano & Mr. Tuscano

Student Advocates
cwoodbury@cheshire.k12.ct.us
Advisor: Mrs. Woodbury

Student Council
fjawidzik@cheshire.k12.ct.us
Advisor: Mr. Jawidzik
The Dodd Middle School Student Council is a community-service oriented club. We conduct numerous fund raising events throughout the year and donate our proceeds to community service organizations that serve people in need. Our greatest event is the annual Dodd Talent Show, which is a great opportunity for students to showcase their talents and raise money for charity.

Unified Sports

mrapetski@cheshire.k12.ct.us
Advisor: Mr. Rapetski

Winter Wellness Club
kgarden@cheshire.k12.ct.us
ssantos@cheshire.k12.ct.us
Advisors:  Ms. Garden & Mrs. Santos

Yearbook Club
lseymour@cheshire.k12.ct.us
Advisor: Mrs. Seymour